top of page

TECh Challenge

A few weeks ago, my class and I entered the TECh Challenge! This competition consisted of multiple challenges you could choose to enter. Such as an aluminum boat building contest, and a rubber band vehicle. I chose to create a toothpick bridge. One of the reasons I chose this challenge is due to my interest in engineering. I thought it would be a bit easier then creating a rubber band powered vehicle or creating a motor. Yet, this bridge that I was to create was much more time consuming then I first thought. First, I had to conduct research on how to create a strong yet flexible bridge that only consisted of toothpicks and wood glue. Next, I had to collect all of my supplies and create a design. This process took about four days. After the design was done, I began construction. In about a day and an half, my first bridge was complete. However, when I tested it, it snapped very quickly. This was not cool. It was back to the drawing board. After another design was created, I had to construct it again. This time, I made sure to make it was as strong as possible, yet still pretty flexible. This time when I tested it, it held more weight then the original bridge! It was a success. However when it came to test the bridges at the competition, it did not do as well. The judges stopped the test as soon as the bridge started flexing. That was okay because I learned how to fix the design in the future and what to not do when it comes to creating a bridge. Overall, I had a pretty good experience and would most likely try this challenge again.


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page